Air Force Retiree Council

The Air Force Retiree Council provides the link between members of the Air Force retiree community -- retirees, family members and surviving spouses living throughout the world -- and the Air Force chief of staff. It is comprised of two co-chairmen and 15 members representing retirees by geographical areas in the United States and overseas. Currently, there are also four members-at-large appointed by the co-chairmen for their expertise in certain areas needed at the time of appointment. Annual meetings are held at Joint Base San Antonio-Randolph, Texas. Air Force Retiree Council vacancies are publicized in the Afterburner, News for Department of the Air Force Retired Personnel.

The Retiree Council was established in 1972 with the first meeting in 1973 chaired by the late Brig. Gen. Roy Casbeer (USAF retired). There have been 11 chairmen since then. Effective in 1999, the Air Force chief of staff established co-chairmen. Incumbents are retired Lt. Gen. Darryl Roberson and retired former Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force James A. Cody.

The council co-chairmen are the Air Force chief of staff's liaison with the retiree community and work directly for the chief. They chair the Air Force Retiree Council, which meets annually at the Air Force Personnel Center to discuss retiree issues. Upon conclusion of the meeting, they report the council's findings directly to the chief.

The council is comprised of the co-chairmen, 13 members who represent geographic areas within the continental United States, and one representative each from the Pacific and European areas. Currently, there are four at-large positions. There are 98 Retiree Activities Offices and each council member oversees the retiree activities programs within his/her respective area of responsibility. The co-chairmen play an active role in identifying and selecting council members.

At the invitation of local commanders and Retiree Activities Office directors, the co-chairmen visit Air Force installations to speak about issues concerning retirees and their dependents. They maintain contact with many military associations and obtain their views on retiree matters. They also meet with retiree council co-chairmen from the other services to discuss issues that are common to all military retirees.


Former chairmen are: Brig. Gen. Roy N. Casbeer, 1973-1974; Brig. Gen. Robert E. Brofft, 1975-1978; Maj. Gen. Rene J. Dupont, 1979-1982; Maj. Gen. Abraham J. Dreiseszun, 1983-1986; Maj. Gen. Travis R. McNeil, 1987-1992; Maj. Gen. William J. Porter, 1993-1996; Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force James M. McCoy, 1997-1998; Lt. Gen. Everett H. Pratt, 1999-2002; Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force Eric W. Benken, 1999-2002; Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force Frederick J. Finch, 2003-2007; Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force Gerald R. Murray, 2007-2010; Lt. Gen. Donald L. Peterson, 2003-2009; Lt. Gen. Steven R. Polk, 2009-2015; and Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force Rodney J. McKinley, 2010-1017.


Retirees can write to the Air Force Retiree Council at:







Quick Contacts